Jack’s 3 Month post op CT scan

I know some of you may have been wondering when I was going to write this new post on the blog. When I found out the news I couldn’t wait to run home and tell everyone about. But as I was driving home and thinking I wanted to know more of what happened almost nine months ago. So what did I do? I looked to the blog to see what I wrote about Jack’s first 3 month CT scan. I know he had loose screws but how was the bone. I had wrote that both Jack and Hunter’s bones were fusing well. So now here I am wondering if we will have a repeat but will tell you all about the appointment.

Jack’s fusion looks great (sounds familiar). He had a lot of bone and no loose screws. The surgeon was very excited to see the progress and is feeling much more comfortable proceeding with Hunter’s surgery which is slated for May 18th. For Jack we are skipping the next x-ray (he would have had one in about 6 weeks) but the doctor would like to not expose him to the radiation if not really needed and proceed with his 6 month CT scan. Yes we are leaving him in the halo for another 3 months. Better safe then sorry and to help ease the doctor a week ago an article was written by a group of pediatric neurosurgeons in Utah where they used BMP (the bone protein to encourage bone growth), that was also used in Jack, and all the patients were kept in halos for 6 months. The halo doesn’t bother him and it doesn’t bother us. We actually can’t believe it has already been 3 months. Another 3 months will be cake and then 3 months after that Hunter will be out of his. Of course after the halos come off they will be back in collars to help rebuild neck muscle but like we aren’t used to those and they can at least take baths with them on.

So that was the results of our appointment. I try not to be pessimistic but it is hard. If we had never had anything fail or have to be repeated then I would never think other wise. I just need to think positive and hope for everything to continue the way it has been. And call the hospital to get the CT scans mailed to me so I can obese over the images. 😉

Thank you everyone for all the love and support you continue to give our family everyday.

About Alison

Mother of twin boys whom both have morquio syndrome
This entry was posted in Jack and Hunter. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Jack’s 3 Month post op CT scan

  1. Sally and John Anderson says:

    I totally understand that you can’t be quite optimistic, but keep your chin up. This is such positive news. Those boys will get through this and out the other side with good results. They are awesome, and that is because they have very awesome parents. Alison, those walks in the morning help relieve stress, so keep up the good work. You are amazing and I wish you a very happy Mother’s Day. You deserve a “Mother of the Year(s) award and I know everyone agrees with that. We love you and you are in our prayers daily. Love Aunt Sally and Uncle John

  2. Sally and John Anderson says:

    We totally understand how you feel. You can’t be quite optimistic but keep your chin up. The news is good. Those two handsome boys are so awesome. They will get through this and with positive results. We are praying daily for you and your family. I think those walks you take in the morning do you good in more ways than one. They say walking helps stress. Keep up the good work. It will all turn out good in time. You are amazing and God knows that. Happy Mothers day Alison. You deserve to get the “Mother of the Year Award” and I think everyone agrees with me on that. Love you all. ❤

  3. Bobbie Johnson says:

    These boys are truely amazing! We will continue to keep them and all of ya’ll in our prayers.

    JD & Bobbie

Leave a Reply

